Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Prizes
The American Folklore Society recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of folklore by awarding seven major prizes. Most of these prizes are named for remarkable folklorists, and you can find information about all of them by clicking on the name links below. Taken together, the recipients of these prizes embody excellence in all the forms of folklorists' work. These prizes are awarded every year as part of the Wednesday evening opening ceremony at the Society’s annual meeting.

The American Folklore Society Lifetime Scholarly Achievement Award, given every year for outstanding accomplishments over a career of scholarship

The Benjamin A. Botkin Prize, given every year to recognize outstanding career achievement in public folklore

The Chicago Folklore Prize, given every year to the author(s) of the best scholarly monograph in folklore

The Kenneth Goldstein Award for Lifetime Academic Leadership, given in odd-numbered years for outstanding achievement in the building and strengthening of academic programs in folklore
The Archie Green Award of the American Folklore Society recognizes and honors cultural leaders and workers outside the Society’s membership who have made significant contributions to the expressive life of their own communities.

The Zora Neale Hurston Prize, given every year for the best student work in any medium on African American folklore

The Judith McCulloh Award for Lifetime Service to the Field, given for extraordinary contributions in service to the American Folklore Society or the field of folklore more generally, resulting in furthering the visibility and success of our discipline and profession

The Américo Paredes Prize, given every year to recognize excellence in integrating scholarship and engagement with the people and communities one studies, or in teaching and encouraging scholars and practitioners to work in their own cultures or communities

Many interest-group sections of the Society also give prizes to recognize achievement in their own areas of interest; for information, please see AFS Section Prizes.


2019 Prize Recipients

2018 Prize Recipients

2017 Prize Recipients

2016 Prize Recipients

2015 Prize Recipients

2014 Prize Recipients

2013 Prize Recipients

2012 Prize Recipients

2011 Prize Recipients


Career Center
|Open Forums
|Online Store
|Member Search
|Privacy Policy
|Press Room

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Headquartered on the campus of Indiana University-Bloomington, AFS appreciates the generous support of the IU College of Arts and Sciences.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal