Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
Cultural Diversity Committee

The Cultural Diversity Committee (CDC) is a standing (permanent) committee of the AFS. Its purpose is to undertake research and other activities regarding priorities and strategies to diversity the Society’s membership and to keep the Society engaged with diverse communities, and, based on those activities, to recommend policies and actions to the Executive Board.

Chairs: Fariha Khan and Anika Wilson

Members: Guillermo De Los Reyes, Maria Lewis, Mintzi A. Martínez-Rivera, Phyllis May-Machunda, Edward Millar, Diane N'Diaye, Nancy Yan

At present, the Committee is focusing on five initiatives:

1. To engage more directly with local communities and local struggles at our annual meeting sites

2. To experiment with meeting practice and structure to more broadly spark conversations about racial diversity, equity and inclusion in our Society and field

3. To turn the social justice lens inward to open the door to frank conversations about race and privilege within our own Society and field

4. To take a stand by working in solidarity with those fighting racism, xenophobia and homophobia in our communities

5. To teach our children well, by equipping folklore graduate students, new professors and public sector workers with the tools they need to explore folklore theory and history at the intersection of critical race theory, queer theory, transnational, feminist theory/praxis, disability and performance theory

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal