Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
2020 Annual Meeting: Tulsa News Clippings

Tulsa News Clippings

Attractions

Jonathan Bernstein, "Why Tulsa May Be the Next Austin," The Rolling Stone (January 27, 2020): https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-features/tulsa-oklahoma-music-scene-938316/

2018 USA Today Best New Attraction award for Tulsa's park, "The Gathering Place": https://www.10best.com/awards/travel/best-new-attraction-2018/

Karen Heller, "A billionaire’s quirky quest to create a mecca for Bob Dylan fans. In Tulsa, Oklahoma," The Washington Post (October 12, 2017): https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/style/a-billionaires-quirky-quest-to-create-a-mecca-for-bob-dylan-fans-in-tulsa-oklahoma/2017/10/11/6e7f4754-93f9-11e7-89fa-bb822a46da5b_story.html

"The Center of the Universe: An Acoustic Anomaly with a Mysterious Cause," Atlas Obscura, https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/the-center-of-the-universe-tulsa-oklahoma

Food

"We Found Tulsa's Best Pizza Slices," Tulsa World (December 13, 2019): https://www.tulsaworld.com/gallery/we-found-tulsa-s-best-pizza-slices/collection_1efd06e1-edab-55b7-8ff9-22d43effbbb4.html#1

Ashley Ellis, "Tulsa Makes PETA's Top Ten List of Vegan-Friendly Cities," KTUL News (November 15, 2019): https://ktul.com/news/local/tulsa-makes-top-10-list-of-vegan-friendly-cities

Liza Weisstuch, "Tulsa is in the Throes of a Dining Renaissance," The Boston Globe (September 2, 2019): https://www.bostonglobe.com/lifestyle/food-dining/2019/09/02/tulsa-throes-dining-renaissance/8ICHWNybDsa3LkKmLK1YIN/story.html


Tulsa Race Massacre

Debra Adams Simmons, "Should a Horrible Past be Exhumed?" National Geographic Newsletter (February 10, 2020): https://www.nationalgeographic.com/newsletters/history/2020/02/should-horrible-past-exhumed-february-10/

Russell Cobb, "Shifting Collective Memory in Tulsa," The New York Times (February 11, 2020): https://www.nytimes.com/2020/02/11/opinion/tulsa-race-massacre.html

Jennifer Vineyard, "'Watchmen' Opened With the Tulsa Race Riot, Here's What to Read About It," The New York Times (Oct. 21, 2019): https://www.nytimes.com/2019/10/21/arts/television/watchmen-tulsa-race-riot.html

Allison Keyes, "A Long-Lost Manuscript Contains a Searing Eyewitness Account of the Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921," Smithsonian Magazine (May 27, 2016): https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/long-lost-manuscript-contains-searing-eyewitness-account-tulsa-race-massacre-1921-180959251/


Other Community News and Issues

Victor Luckerson, "How a City Fought Runaway Capitalism and Won," The New York Times (November 15, 2019): https://www.nytimes.com/2019/11/15/opinion/sunday/tulsa-dollar-stores.html

Patricia Leigh Brown, "Transforming Tulsa, Starting with a Park," The New York Times (August 10, 2018): https://www.nytimes.com/2018/08/10/arts/design/tulsa-park-gathering-place.html



Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Privacy Policy
| Donate
| FAQ


American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA
812/856-2379; www.afsnet.org



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal