Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Archie Green Award

The American Folklore Society’s Archie Green Award is a way for our field to recognize and honor local cultural leaders and workers outside the Society’s membership who have made significant contributions to the expressive life of their own communities. This award is given at the time of the Society’s annual meeting to a person, group, or organization from the community or region in which the meeting will take place. Recipients’ contributions to their community may include (but are not limited to) art-making, mentoring, teaching, advocating, program- or institution-building, and the like.

Each year, members of the local committee planning the Society’s annual meeting select a recipient or recipients of that year’s Award, based on their own extensive local knowledge, relationships, and networks. The recipient will be recognized in person as part of the Society award ceremonies on the opening evening of the annual meeting, and will receive an award certificate and travel support.

This prize originated in 2009 as the Archie Green Public Folklore Advocacy Award. Before it was suspended in 2013, it was given to Tom Davenport, filmmaker and creator of Folkstreams; Jack Loeffler, author and producer, for his cultural and environmental advocacy; and Patty Miller, director of the Basque Museum and Cultural Center in Boise, Idaho (2009).

Recent winners of the AFS Archie Green Award include:

James Lane (Crisfield, MD), 2019 Award

Allan Jamieson, Sr. (Neto Hatinakwe Onkwehowe), 2018 Award


Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Privacy Policy
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal