Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
2018 Election
Share |

The AFS Nominating Committee (chaired by Steve Zeitlin with members Olivia Cadaval, Diane Goldstein, and Rachel González-Martin) has announced its slate of two candidates for each available office in the AFS 2018 election. No candidates were nominated by petition by the September 24 deadline. Therefore, the candidates for office this year are:

President-Elect (one to be elected to a four-year term: President-Elect in 2019, President in 2020-2021, and Past President in 2022):

Simon Bronner, Missouri University of Science and Technology
Norma Cantú
, Trinity University

Executive Board (three to be elected to three-year, 2019-2021 terms):

Pat Atkinson, Nevada Arts Council

Luisa Del Giudice, Independent, California

Pat Jasper, Independent, Texas

Tom Mould, Elon University, Elon, North Carolina

Martha Sims, The Ohio State University

Emily Socolov, University of Texas, Austin


Nominating Committee (one to be elected to a three-year, 2019-2021 term):


Andrea Graham, University of Wyoming

Lisa RathjeLocal Learning


All candidates have provided biographical summaries and platform statements, which you can read by clicking on the candidates' names above. We have invited all candidates to take part in the Candidates' Forum on Thursday afternoon, October 18, at the Buffalo annual meeting. Secure online voting will begin on November 1 and will continue through December 31. Those elected will take office in January 2019.




Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal