Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
2017 Election
Share |

In August, the AFS Nominating Committee (Joseph Sciorra, chair; Diane E. Goldstein, Olivia Cadaval, and Steve Zeitlin) announced its slate of two candidates for each available office in the AFS 2017 election. No candidates were nominated by petition by the August 31 deadline. Therefore, the candidates for office this year are:

Executive Board (three to be elected to three-year, 2018-2020 terms)
Sheila Bock, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Michael Dylan Foster, University of California, Davis
Jon Kay, Traditional Arts Indiana
Patricia Sawin, University of North Carolina
Debra Lattanzi Shutika, George Mason University
Sally Van de Water, independent, New Park, Pennsylvania

Nominating Committee
(one to be elected to a three-year, 2018-2020 term)
Danille Christensen, Virginia Tech University
Rachel González-Martin, University of Texas

(Note: 2017 is not a Presidential election year.)

All candidates have provided biographical summaries and platform statements, which you can read by clicking on the candidates' names above. We have invited all candidates to take part in the Candidates' Forum on Thursday afternoon, October 19, at the Minneapolis annual meeting. Secure online voting will begin on November 1 and will continue through December 31. Those elected will take office in January 2018.




Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal