Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
2013 Election Results
The following AFS members were elected to office in the balloting that ended December 31:

Executive Board (for three-year, 2014-2016 terms):
Maggie Holtzberg, Massachusetts Cultural Council, Boston
Maggie Kruesi, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress, Washington, DC

Diane Tye, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's

Nominating Committee
(for a three-year, 2014-2016 term):

Selina Morales, Philadelphia Folklore Project

The number of members casting votes rose from 262 in the last non-Presidential election in 2011 to 280 this year: a 7% increase. However, this 2013 number still represents only about 1/4 of our membership.

All of the 2013 candidates deserve thanks for their willingness to serve the Society and field, and for their energetic participation in the nomination and election process. The same appreciation is due to the members of the 2013 Nominating Committee (chair Christina Barr, Laura Marcus Green, Leonard Norman Primiano, and Sally Van de Water) for their work to assemble the 2013 slate of candidates.

Finally, the entire Executive Board and staff express their deep gratitude to 2012-2013 President Diane Goldstein (who will serve as Past President this year), and to the three members whose Board terms ended on December 31--Lisa Gabbert, Sabina Magliocco, and Leonard Norman Primiano--for their constant leadership in the field and thoughtful stewardship of our Society.

The 2014 nomination and election process (which will select AFS's 2016-2017 President, three Executive Board members, and one member of the Nominating Committee) will begin this spring, and will be led by 2014 Nominating Committee chair Sally Van de Water. Please send your recommendations of good potential candidates to her at

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal