Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
2012 Election

The 2012 AFS election is now open.

This year, AFS members are electing candidates to the Presidency (for a four-year, 2013-2016 term), to three seats on the Executive Board (for three-year, 2013-2015 terms), and to one seat on the Nominating Committee (for a three-year, 2013-2015 term).

You may cast your ballot securely online anytime between now and the deadline of December 31.

You can download and mail in a paper ballot, or vote online. To vote online, go to the ballot URL at

When you click this URL, you will first be taken to the member login page. After you log in, you will be taken to the main election information page, on which we ask you to verify your personal information. We require this verification to ensure that you are a current AFS member and that each member votes only once. Your name will not be linked with the votes you cast.

From this page, you’ll be taken to the ballot page, on which you will find links to information pages for each candidate (each of which contains a biographical summary and a platform statement) and sets of check boxes for you to submit your votes. You can go back and forth between the ballot page and the candidate information pages until you submit your votes by clicking the "Complete Survey" button.

If you want to read the candidate's biographies and platform statements before entering the voting site, please follow these links:


Margaret Mills, The Ohio State University, emerita; Crane Island, Washington
Michael Ann Williams, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green

Executive Board:

Note: One of the Nominating Committee's six original Executive Board candidates has withdrawn from this year’s election.

Brent Björkman, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green
Charlie McCormick, Schreiner University, Kerrville, Texas
Tom Mould, Elon University, Elon, North Carolina
Pravina Shukla, Indiana University, Bloomington
Carolyn Ware, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge

Nominating Committee:

Laura Marcus Green, Independent Folklorist, Santa Fe, New Mexico
Margaret Capili Magat, Cultural Surveys Hawai'i, Honolulu, Hawai'i

We will inform you of the election's results shortly after the beginning of January 2013.

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal