Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Review: News

2010 AFS Election Results Announced

Tuesday, January 4, 2011   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Timothy Lloyd
Share |

The following AFS members were elected to office in the balloting that ended December 31:

President-Elect (for a four-year, 2011-2014 term: one year as President-Elect, two years as President, one year as Past President)

Diane Goldstein, Indiana University, Bloomington

Executive Board (for three-year, 2011-2013 terms)

Lisa Gabbert, Utah State University, Logan

Sabina Magliocco, California State University, Northridge

Leonard Norman Primiano, Cabrini College, Radnor, Pennsylvania

Nominating Committee (for a three-year, 2011-2013 term)

Christina Barr, Nevada Humanities, Reno

The number of members casting a vote rose from 210 last year to 318 this year. We are grateful for this increased participation and hope that it continues to rise in future years.

All of the 2010 candidates deserve our thanks for their willingness to serve the Society and field, and for their energetic participation in the nomination and election process. The same is due to the members of the 2010 Nominating Committee (Juwen Zhang, chair; Suzi Seriff, Steve Winick, and Amy Skillman) for their work to assemble this year's slate of candidates.

Finally, the entire Executive Board expresses its deep personal appreciation to the departing members of the Board--Past President Elaine Lawless, Tim Evans, Carl Lindahl, and Marsha MacDowell--for their constant leadership and thoughtful stewardship of our Society.

The 2011 nomination process will begin this Spring, and will be led by 2011 Nominating Committee chair Suzi Seriff.

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal