Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Review: News

2011 AFS Election Results

Friday, January 6, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Lorraine Cashman
Share |
The following AFS members were elected to office in the balloting that ended December 31:

Executive Board (for three-year, 2012-2014 terms)

David Todd Lawrence, University of St. Thomas, St. Paul, Minnesota
Solimar Otero, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge
Juwen Zhang, Willamette University, Salem, Oregon

Nominating Committee
(for a three-year, 2012-2014 term)

Sally Van de Water, Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation, Baltimore, Maryland

The number of members casting votes rose from 210 in the last non-Presidential election in 2009 to 262 this year: a 25% increase. We are grateful for this increased participation and hope that it continues to rise in future years.

All of the 2011 candidates deserve our thanks for their willingness to serve the Society and field, and for their energetic participation in the nomination and election process. The same appreciation is due to the members of the 2011 Nominating Committee (chair Suzi Seriff, Christina Barr, Amy Skillman, and Steve Winick) for their work to assemble the 2011 slate of candidates.

Finally, the entire Executive Board expresses its deep gratitude to the departing members of the Board—Amy Shuman, Amy Skillman, and Bill Westerman—and to 2010-2011 President Kurt Dewhurst, who will remain on the Board in 2012 as Past President, for their constant leadership and thoughtful stewardship of our Society.

The 2012 nomination and election process, which will select our next President-Elect, three Executive Board members, and a member of the Nominating Committee, will begin this spring, and will be led by 2012 Nominating Committee chair Steve Winick.

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal