Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Review: News

AFS Nominating Committee Announces Slate for the 2016 Election

Monday, August 8, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Tim Lloyd
Share |

The AFS Nominating Committee (Selina Morales, chair, Joseph Sciorra, Diane Tye, and Steve Zeitlin) is happy to announce its slate of two candidates for each available office in the AFS 2016 election.

President (elect one for a four-year term: 2017 President-Elect, 2018-2019 President, 2020 Past President)
Dorothy Noyes, The Ohio State University
Solimar Otero, Louisiana State University

Executive Board (elect three to three-year terms, 2017-2019)
Wanda Addison, National University
Olivia Cadaval, Smithsonian Institution
Phyllis May-Machunda, Minnesota State University Moorhead
Christopher Mulé, Brooklyn Arts Council
Anand Prahlad, University of Missouri
Suzanne Seriff, Museum of International Folk Art

Nominating Committee (elect one to a three-year term, 2017-2019)
Diane Goldstein, Indiana University
Marjorie Hunt, Smithsonian Institution

According to the AFS Bylaws, members have the opportunity to add names to this slate by petition. Here is the process: by September 10, submit an email to AFS Executive Director Tim Lloyd ( with the following four attachments:

1) A PDF petition with the names and email addresses of at least 10 current AFS members that names the candidate and the office for which s/he is being nominated

2) A 100-word summary professional biography for the candidate in Word

3) A 250-word platform statement in Word from the candidate responding to the question "What are the most significant opportunities and challenges now facing the Society and field, and how as [President/a member of the Executive Board/a member of the Nominating Committee] would I respond to those opportunities and challenges?"

4) A "head shot" photo of the candidate (.jpg format, portrait orientation, approx. 200 pixels wide by 267 pixels tall)

Potential candidates can request examples of recent biographical summaries and platform statements from Tim Lloyd at the email address above. We will post biographical summaries and platform statements from all candidates on the elections page of the AFS web site on September 15.

We have invited all candidates to participate in a Candidates' Forum on Friday afternoon of the Miami annual meeting, and we invite all Society members who will be at the meeting to attend and hear the candidates speak. Secure online voting will begin on November 1 and will continue through December 31. Those elected will take office on January 1, 2017.

Our thanks go to the members of the Committee for their work to assemble this slate, and to all candidates for their willingness to serve the field and Society.

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal