Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Review: News

NEA Announces 2020 Recipients of Nation’s Highest Honor in the Folk and Traditional Arts

Tuesday, June 23, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Alexandra Sanchez

As part of the National Endowment for the Arts’ (NEA) work to support and celebrate the nation’s rich traditional arts heritage, the agency is announcing the 2020 recipients of its National Heritage Fellowships. These lifetime honor awards of $25,000 are given in recognition of both artistic excellence and efforts to sustain cultural traditions for future generations.

“Each year the Heritage Fellowships highlight the distinct living traditions of communities around our nation, as well as how our fellows instill a sense of pride, beauty, and cultural continuity through their art,” said Mary Anne Carter, chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts. “The National Endowment for the Arts is pleased to recognize these outstanding artists with a National Heritage Fellowship.”

The 2020 National Heritage Fellows are:

  • William Bell, Soul Singer and Songwriter from Atlanta, Georgia
  • Onnik Dinkjian, Armenian Folk and Liturgical Singer from Fort Lee, New Jersey
  • Zakarya and Naomi Diouf, West African Diasporic Dancers from Oakland/Castro Valley, California
  • Karen Ann Hoffman (Oneida Nation of Wisconsin), Iroquois Raised Beadworker from Stevens Point, Wisconsin
  • Los Matachines de la Santa Cruz de la Ladrillera, Traditional Religious Dancers from Laredo, Texas
  • John Morris, Old-Time Fiddler and Banjo Player from Ivydale, West Virginia
  • Suni Paz, Nueva Canción Singer and Songwriter from Henderson, Nevada
  • Wayne Valliere (Lac du Flambeau Ojibwe), Birchbark Canoe Builder from Waaswaaganing (Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin)
  • Hugo N. Morales, Radio Producer and Radio Network Builder from Fresno, California

To learn more of the 2020 National Heritage Fellowship awardees, see NEA News

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Privacy Policy
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal