Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Review: News

AFS Nominating Committee Announces 2019 Candidate Slate

Thursday, September 5, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Alexandra Sanchez
The AFS Nominating Committee (chaired by Diane Goldstein with members Olivia Cadaval, Rachel González-Martin, and Lisa Rathje) has announced its slate of two candidates for each available office in the AFS 2019 election. 

Executive Board (three to be elected to three-year, 2020-2022 terms):

Amanda Dargan (CityLore) 
Thomas A. DuBois (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
Carrie Hertz (Museum of International Folk Art) 
Ellen E. McHale (New York Folklore)
Tom Rankin (Duke University)
Elizabeth Tucker (Binghamton University)
Nominating Committee (one to be elected to a three-year, 2020-2022 term):
David J. Puglia, City University of New York
Anika Wilson, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
As described in the AFS Bylaws, Society members now have the opportunity to add names to this slate by petition. Here is the process:
No later than September 24, please submit the following materials by email to AFS Executive Director Jessica Turner (
  1. A petition signed by at least 10 current AFS members that names the candidate and the office for which s/he is being nominated (please submit as a PDF)
  2. A statement from the candidate agreeing to run (please submit as a PDF)
  3. A 100-word biographical summary for the candidate (please submit in .doc or .rtf format)
  4. A 250-word platform statement from the candidate responding to the question "What are the most significant opportunities or challenges now facing the Society, and how as [a member of the Executive Board / a member of the Nominating Committee] would you respond to those opportunities or challenges?" (please submit in .doc or .rtf format)
We will post biographical summaries and platform statements from all candidates on the elections page of the AFS web site on October 1. 

We have invited all candidates to participate in a Candidates' Forum on Thursday afternoon of the Baltimore annual meeting, and we invite all Society members who will be at the meeting to attend and hear the candidates speak. Secure online voting will begin around November 1 and will continue through December 31. Those elected will take office on January 1, 2020. 

The Executive Board thanks the members of the Committee for their work to assemble this slate, and all candidates for their willingness to serve the field and Society.

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Privacy Policy
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal