Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Review: News

AFS Archives and Libraries Section Invites Brenda McCallum Prize Applications

Tuesday, January 8, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Evangeline Mee

The American Folklore Society Archives and Libraries Section Prize Committee is calling for 2018 Brenda McCallum Prize applications. The application deadline is January 31, 2019. Since 1994, the AFS Archives and Libraries Section has awarded a prize of up to $250 honoring the late folklife archivist Brenda McCallum. Through this prize, the AFS Archives and Libraries Section seeks to promote works of excellence and innovation that further the cause of preservation, organization, curation, or enhanced public access and use related to folklife archival collections.

The Brenda McCallum Prize is awarded to an individual or institution for producing an exceptional work related to archival collections of folklife materials. Examples of eligible products include—but are not limited to—digital collections, exhibits, or access tools such as software/apps, online and in-person workshops, lecture series, webinars, or websites that provide enhanced equipment and media specifications for generation and preservation of archival materials; or more traditional presentations of collections, collections work, or their materials through exhibitions, publications, and programming. For further examples, see the list of past winners.

An Eligible Work:

––Must have a connection with a folklife collection, even if the collection or archival curation is not directly associated with a formal folklore archive. The Archives & Libraries Section notes that any work is eligible which facilitates the organization of ethnographic materials created in the field, since it ultimately assists the cause of folklife archives and archivists.

––May involve excellence or outstanding innovation in the creation of a new collection, work with an established collection, or services to professionals who work with collections. Suggested examples include:

  • New Collections: Assembly or creation of a new collection of folklife archival materials and records that make them more accessible and usable to a community beyond the curators or hosting institution.
  • Established Collections: Work to make an existing collection more available to a wider audience (such as through digitization of archival materials, development of a collection repository website, or development of an interactive collection guide or particularly well-developed finding aid). Or an exceptional book or report that involves new research that enhances awareness of a folklife collection’s curation or materials.
  • Services to Collections Professionals: Provision of education, creation of guidelines or new techniques through case studies, or development of other services centered around collection management practices that will assist and improve the efforts specifically of folklife collection management professionals (such as new software or an app; articles; or workshops/webinars).

––Should have been created during the two calendar years prior to the submission deadline. (For 2018 see below)

––Must be nominated by a team that represents a range of project, community, and institutional partners.

Nominations for the McCallum Prize must be submitted by email to the chair of the Archives and Libraries Section Prize Committee, Janet Gilmore.

Nominations should include:

1. A letter from the nominators explaining their relationship to the nominee and describing the nominated work. The letter should also explain the work’s connection to a folklife collection of archival materials and records and make a case for its excellence and innovative features, as well as its importance to the discipline of folklore archiving. Letters should be no more than two pages long.

2. Contact information for both nominators and the nominees, including full names and titles, mailing addresses, phone numbers, institutional affiliations (if any), emails, and any relevant web links.

3. Access to the nominated work for evaluation by the Prize Committee. Examples:

  • Instructions on how to access a website, digital collection, software product, or app
  • Video recording or copy of digital presentation for webinars, workshops, or lectures
  • Digital access to full copies of a book, article, or similar publication, or four hard copies of each nominated work if digital access is unavailable)

For questions on these or on any formats not listed here, please contact the Prize Committee Chair, Janet Gilmore, at

Note on 2018 Submissions: The McCallum Prize Committee will accept nominations for works completed during the 2016, 2017, or 2018 years. The due date for this round is January 31, 2019. The Prize winner will be listed for 2018 on the McCallum Prize page, but announced at the AFS 2019 meeting of the Archives and Libraries Section.



Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Privacy Policy
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal