Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Review: News

Results of the 2017 AFS Election

Tuesday, January 2, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Tim Lloyd
Share |

The following AFS members were elected to office in the balloting that ended December 31:

Executive Board (for 2018-2020 terms): Michael Dylan Foster (University of California, Davis), Patricia Sawin (University of North Carolina), Debra Lattanzi Shutika (George Mason University)
Nominating Committee (for a 2018-2020 term): Rachel González-Martin (University of Texas)

309 members voted in the election, a significant increase compared to the numbers of members who voted in the last three non-Presidential elections: 262 in 2011, 280 in 2013, and 258 in 2015. This indicates the strength of this year’s slate of candidates as a whole, as well as increasing engagement on the part of our members.

The members of the Executive Board and staff extend their thanks to the members of the 2017 Nominating Committee—and in particular to departing Committee chair Joseph Sciorra—for their work to assemble this slate of excellent candidates, and to all our 2017 candidates for their willingness to serve the Society and field.

Our gratitude also goes to departing Executive Board members Norma Cantú, Lisa Gilman, and Jeff Todd Titon, and to 2016-2017 President Kay Turner, who will remain on the Board during 2018 as Past President. Finally, we are happy to welcome and recognize Dorry Noyes, who has just succeeded Kay as President, in which office she will serve through 2019.

Incoming Nominating Committee chair Steve Zeitlin, along with Committee members Olivia Cadaval, Diane Goldstein, and Rachel González-Martin, will be taking up the 2018 nominating process—which will elect the next AFS President, three Board members, and a member of the Nominating Committee—later this spring.

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal