Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Review: News

Results of the 2016 AFS Election

Tuesday, January 3, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Tim Lloyd
Share |

Here are the results of the 2016 AFS election, which concluded at the end of December:

President (President-Elect in 2017, President in 2018-2019, Past President in 2020): Dorry Noyes (The Ohio State University)

Executive Board (2017-2019): Wanda Addison (National University), Olivia Cadaval (Smithsonian Institution), Phyllis May-Machunda (Minnesota State University Moorhead)

Nominating Committee (2017-2019): Diane Goldstein (Indiana University)

Proposed AFS Bylaws amendments: Approved

314 members voted in the 2016 election, in line with the number who voted in two of the last three elections featuring a Presidential vote: 307 (2014) and 317 (2010), but fewer than the number (377) who voted in 2012.

We want to thank Nominating Committee members Selina Morales (chair, who now rotates off the Committee), Joseph Sciorra, Diane Tye, and Steve Zeitlin for their work to assemble the 2016 slate of candidates. Sciorra will chair the Committee in 2017, and will be joined by Goldstein, Zeitlin, and a member of the Executive Board to be named shortly. The 2017 nomination and election process will begin this spring.

Our thanks also go to outgoing AFS President Michael Ann Williams and Executive Board members Maggie Holtzberg, Maggie Kruesi, and Diane Tye for their leadership and service to the Society and field.

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal