Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
Children's Folklore Section

The AFS Children's Folklore section publishes the annual Children’s Folklore Review, awards several prizes for outstanding work in children’s folklore, and sponsors sessions on children’s folklore at the AFS annual meeting. For more information, please contact section convener Kate Schramm at Indiana University.

See Essential Texts for Children's Folklore Studies, a wiki bibliography of foundational and representative books on children's folklore.

Children’s Folklore Newsletter

Children's Folklore eNewsletter Volume 2, Issue 1, Spring 2011
Children’s Folklore eNewsletter Volume 1, Issue 1, Spring 2010

W.W. Newell Prize

The section annually offers the W. W. Newell Prize, which includes a cash award, for the best student essay on a topic in children's folklore. Students must submit their own papers, and published papers are not eligible. We invite instructors to encourage students with eligible papers to enter the competition. Papers must be typed, double-spaced, and on white paper. On the first page, include the author's name, academic address, home address, e-mail address, and telephone numbers. The deadline for the 2018 year's competition is September 30. Please electronically submit paper to Lisa Gabbert.

Opie Prize

The Iona and Peter Opie Prize is awarded approximately every two years to the author of the best recently published scholarly book on children's folklore. The next Opie Prize will be awarded in 2018. The chairs of the Opie Prize Committee are John McDowell at Indiana University and Elizabeth Tucker at the Binghamton University and can be submitted to them at Folklore Institute, Indiana University, Classroom Office Building, 800 E. 3rd St, Bloomington, IN 47405 and 500 Magnolia Drive, Vestal NY 13850 respectively. The deadline for submissions for this year's prize is September 1, 2018.

The winner of the 2016 Opie Prize is Children’s Games in the New Media Age: Childlore, Media and the Playground, edited by Andrew Burn and Chris Richards (Ashgate, 2014). 2012 Opie Prize were Kathryn MarshThe Musical Playground: Global Traditions and Change in Children’s Songs and Games (New York: Oxford University Press, 2008), and Anna R. BeresinRecess Battles: Play, Fighting, and Storytelling (Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2010). Honorable Mention went to Carla Pascoe, Spaces Imagined, Places Remembered: Childhood in 1950s Australia (Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2011), Steve Roud, The Lore of the Playground: One Hundred Years of Children's Games, Rhymes and Traditions (London: Random House, 2010), and Elizabeth Tucker, Children’s Folklore: A Handbook (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008).

Aesop Prize and Aesop Accolades

The Aesop Prize and Aesop Accolades are conferred annually by the Children’s Folklore Section of the American Folklore Society upon English language books for children and young adults, both fiction and nonfiction. Books published in 2017 and 2018 are eligible for these awards. Nominated books must be received by committee members no later than August 15, 2018. The winning books are announced at the annual meeting of the American Folklore Society each October.

See The Folklore Commons for information about past Aesop Award recipients.

Prize Review Criteria 

  • Folklore should be central to the book’s content and, if appropriate, to its illustrations.
  • The folklore presented in the book should accurately reflect the culture and worldview of the people whose folklore is the focus of the book.
  • The reader’s understanding of folklore should be enhanced by the book, as should the book be enhanced by the presence of folklore.
  • The book should reflect the high artistic standards of the best of children’s literature and have strong appeal to the child reader.
  • Folklore sources must be fully acknowledged and annotations referenced within the bound contents of the publication.

Please submit a copy of each nominated title to each committee member. Aesop Prize Committee members for 2016-2017 are:

  • Suzy Grindrod, 2030 Carey Ct., Madison, WI 53704
  • Lindsey Carmichael 207 Dundas Street East, Suite 415, Trenton ON Canada K8V 1L8
  • Spencer Green, Chair, 1520 MacIntosh Way Hummelstown, PA 17036
  • Kate Schramm, 2706 S. Banta Ave, Bloomington, IN 47403

 Please direct questions about the Aesop Prize and Aesop Accolades to

To request Aesop seals, contact Priscilla Ord at



Click here to join this American Folklore Society interest-group section. Click here to pay section dues.

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal