Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
2014 Candidates

The election closed December 31, 2014.

Each of the candidates put forward by the 2014 AFS Nominating Committee (Sally Van de Water, chair; Laura Marcus Green, Selina Morales, and Pravina Shukla) has provided a summary professional biography for voters' information.


In addition, each candidate has provided a written answer to the question "What are the most significant opportunities or challenges now facing the Society, and how as [President/a member of the Executive Board/a member of the Nominating Committee] would you respond to those opportunities or challenges?"


Please click on the candidates' names below to read the information they have submitted.


President (Elect one to a four-year term: President-Elect in 2015, President in 2016-2017, Past President in 2018):


Kay Turner, Independent Scholar and Public Folklorist, Brooklyn, New York

Patricia A. Turner, University of California, Los Angeles


Executive Board (Elect three to three-year, 2015-2017 terms):


Norma E. CantĂș, University of Missouri, Kansas City

Lisa Gilman, University of Oregon

Winnie Lambrecht, Rhode Island School of Design

Cliff Murphy, Maryland State Arts Council

Bonnie B. O'Connor, Brown University Medical School, emerita

Jeff Todd Titon, Brown University, emeritus


Nominating Committee (Elect one to a three-year, 2015-2017 term):


Joseph Sciorra, Queens College, City University of New York

Daniel Sheehy, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, Washington, DC


We have invited all candidates to participate in a Candidates' Forum on Saturday afternoon of the Santa Fe annual meeting, and we invite all Society members who will be at the meeting to attend and hear the candidates speak. Secure online voting will begin on November 15 and will continue through December 31. Those elected will take office in January 2015.


Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal