Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
2012 Election Results
The following AFS members were elected to office in the balloting that ended December 31:
President-Elect (for a four-year term: President-Elect in 2013, President in 2014-2015, and Past President in 2016)
Michael Ann Williams, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green

Executive Board (for three-year, 2013-2015 terms)
Brent Björkman, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green
Pravina Shukla, Indiana University, Bloomington
Carolyn Ware, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge
Nominating Committee (for a three-year, 2013-2015 term)
Laura Marcus Green, Independent Folklorist, Santa Fe, New Mexico

The number of members casting votes rose from 317 in the last Presidential election in 2010 to 377 this year: a 19% increase.  We are grateful for this increased participation and hope that it continues to rise in future years.

All of the 2012 candidates deserve our thanks for their willingness to serve the Society and field, and for their energetic participation in the nomination and election process.  The same appreciation is due to the members of the 2012 Nominating Committee (chair Steve Winick, Christina Barr, Leonard Norman Primiano, and Sally Van de Water) for their work to assemble the 2012 slate of candidates.

Finally, the entire Executive Board expresses its deep gratitude to the departing members of the Board--Ray Cashman, Jason Baird Jackson, Riki Saltzman, and Marilyn White, and 2010-2011 President Kurt Dewhurst--for their constant leadership and thoughtful stewardship of our Society.

The 2013 nomination and election process, which will select three Executive Board members and a member of the Nominating Committee, will begin this spring, and will be led by 2013 Nominating Committee chair Christina Barr.

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal