Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
The Jonathan T. Yeh Award for Student Scholarship
Share |




The Transnational Asia/Pacific Section of the American Folklore Society is proud to present the Jonathan T. Yeh Award for Student Scholarship in Asian and Asian American Folklore. The award aims to foster and promote graduate and undergraduate students in the early stages of their careers, encourage advanced scholarly research and publication on Asian and/or Asian American folklore subjects, and support AFS members who want to participate more actively in the Society. The $500 prize winner will be announced at the AFS annual meeting for the best student paper that contributes to Asian and/or Asian American folklore studies through research and analysis.  It is expected that the award recipient will present his/her paper at the AFS annual conference.

The co-conveners of the Transnational Asia/Pacific Section will form the committee, together with three additional members, including Dr. Nora Yeh who sponsors this award, to select the paper. At the time of submission, the applicant must be a registered full-time graduate or undergraduate student. He or she may be enrolled in any discipline in any U.S. or international academic institution. The work must show compelling prospects for the publication of his or her scholarly work and demonstrate a dedication to research and/or teaching folklore studies. All applications must include a one-page cover letter describing the applicant's background and current activities, indicating why the applicant deserves consideration for this award; a one-page CV; a 10-12 page research paper, double-spaced (approximately 2500 words); and one letter of recommendation from an academic institution or equivalent, sent under separate cover (e-mail attachments are acceptable).


Please send all materials via e-mail to:

Dr. Fariha Khan

Asian American Studies Program, University of Pennsylvania

166 McNeil Bldg., 3718 Locust Walk

Philadelphia, PA 19104 USA.


Deadline is extended: now July 1.  The prize will be awarded at the AFS annual meeting.

To join this American Folklore Society interest-group section, please click here. You need not be a member of the American Folklore Society to join its sections.



Shakthi Nataraj, University of California, Berkeley
"Legal 'lore': The co-constitution of legend and law in colonial contemporary India"



Eric César Morales, Indiana University
"Negotiating Gender on the Stage: Trans Identities in Tahitian Dance."


Kati Fitzferald, Ohio State University
"Nangsa Ohbum and Lama Shakya Gyaltsen as Manifestations of Chakrasamvara and Vajravarahi."

Semontee Mitra, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg
"Worship of the Goddess Durga: An Ethnographic Study of Hindu Religious Festivals in the United States."

No recipient

Suzanne Barber, Indiana University
"Shaoshan: A Return to Mao, A Return to Home."

Yuanhao Zhao, Ohio State University
"In the Margins: Folk Belief, Huizus, and the 'Pork Thing' in China."

Eric Waite, Iowa State University
'"Tenrikyo: Amalgam of Kansai Religion.'"

Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Classroom-Office Building, Indiana University, 800 East Third Street, Bloomington IN 47405 USA

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal