Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Section Prizes

Several AFS interest-group sections also sponsor prizes for good work in a variety of media. Read the summaries below and follow the links to individual section pages for more information.

Archives and Libraries Section

Polly Grimshaw Prize: For folklore or ethnomusicology projects with a significant connection to libraries and/or archives. Annual deadline: September 15 (odd-numbered years)

Brenda McCallum Prize: For an exceptional work dealing with folklife archives or the collection, organization, and management of folklife materials. Annual deadline: September 15 (even-numbered years)

Children's Folklore Section

Aesop Prize and Aesop Accolades: For outstanding illustrated children's publications utilizing folkloric themes. Annual deadline: August 15

W.W. Newell Prize: For the best student essay on children's folklore. Annual deadline: September 30

Folk Arts Section

The Warren E. Roberts Prize: For the best undergraduate or graduate student paper on any aspect of folk art or material culture (broadly construed). Annual deadline: September 25

Folk Belief and Religious Folklife Section

Don Yoder Prize: For the best undergraduate or graduate student paper in folk belief or religious folklife. Annual deadline: September 15

Folklore and Education Section

Dorothy Howard Folklore and Education Prize: For work which effectively encourages K-12 educators or students to use or study folklore and folkloristic approaches in all school environments. Annual deadline: August 31

Robinson-Roeder-Ward Fellowship: The fellowship will be awarded to an educator who is engaged in folklore, ethnography, or cultural heritage and K-12 education. Stipend to attend AFS meeting and one year section membership. Annual deadline: Must be nominated by current section member before AFS proposals are accepted in June every year.

Foodways Section

Sue Samuelson Award for Foodways Scholarship: For the best student paper on food and foodways. Annual deadline: February 1

Graduate Students Section

The Kara Nicole Bayless Prize: For the best paper by a graduate student on the current theme of the AFS annual meeting. Biannual deadline: September 25 (even-numbered years)
History and Folklore Section

Wayland Hand Prize: For the best book combining history and folklore methods and topics. Biannual deadline: June 1 (even-numbered years)
Richard Reuss Prize: For a student paper on a subject including historical approaches to the study of folklore and the history of folklore studies. Biannual deadline: June 1 (odd-numbered years)

Jewish Folklore and Ethnology Section

Raphael Patai Prize for Excellence in Jewish Folklore and Ethnography: For a publishable student paper, graduate or undergraduate, in the field of Jewish folklore or ethnography. Annual deadline: September 1

Folklore Latino, Latinoamericano y Caribeño Section

Compañero de las Américas Award: A biennial award for a person who has made significant contributions to the understanding of Latino, Latin American, or Caribbean folklore, and whose contributions fall within the context of the AFS annual meeting theme or venue.

LGBTQA Section

Student Prize: For the best student paper or production on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or queer folklore. Annual deadline: September 1

New Directions in Folklore Section

Bill Ellis Prize: For the best graduate student essay that combines research and analysis on folklore, broadly construed, and digital culture, popular culture, or new media: September 1

Nordic-Baltic Section

The Boreal Prize: For an outstanding article-length student essay on a folklore topic having to do with Northern Europe and/or the diasporas of its various peoples: September 1

Politics, Folklore and Social Justice Section

William Still Citation for Life Grassroots Cultural Work: For work through folk and traditional arts or other form of cultural work that has benefited the community. Annual deadline: August 15

Public Programs Section

Archie Green Public Advocacy Award: Established in 2009 in honor of the preeminent labor scholar and passionate advocate for the discipline of folklore (1917-2009), the Archie Green Award is presented by the Public Programs Section of the American Folklore Society to individuals who have made significant contributions to the preservation and encouragement of folk traditions in the United States while operating professionally outside the field of public folklore. The award is intended for living individuals whose work is allied or complementary to our field and has advanced the mission of public folklore. Annual deadline: September 1.

Storytelling Section

Dan Crowley Memorial Research Award: For an outstanding student paper exploring the process of storytelling. Annual deadline: June 1

Transnational Asia/Pacific Section

Jonathan T.Y. Yeh Memorial Student Prize: For the best undergraduate or graduate student paper that contributes to Asian or Asian American folklore studies through research and analysis.
Deadline: June 1, 2016

Women's Section

Polly Stewart Student Travel Stipend: To fund travel for one or more students attending the AFS annual meeting. Annual deadline: June 25
Elli Köngäs-Maranda Profesional/Non-Student Prize: For outstanding work on women's traditional, vernacular, and local culture and/or work on feminist theory and folklore. Annual deadline: July 31
Elli Köngäs-Maranda Student Prize: For the best student paper or production on women's traditional, vernacular, and local culture and/or work on feminist theory and folklore. Annual deadline: October 1


Career Center
| Open Forums
| Online Store
| Renew
| Member Search
| Donate

American Folklore SocietySister Society: SIEF
Eigenmann Hall, Indiana University, 1900 East Tenth Street, Bloomington IN 47406 USA
812/856-2379; fax: 812/856-2483;

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal