Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
AFS Prizes
The American Folklore Society recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of folklore by awarding six major prizes. Most of these prizes are named for remarkable folklorists, and you can find information about all of them by clicking on the name links below. Taken together, the recipients of these prizes embody excellence in all the forms of folklorists' work. These prizes are awarded every year as part of the Wednesday evening opening ceremony at the Society’s annual meeting.

The American Folklore Society Lifetime Scholarly Achievement Award, given in even-numbered years for outstanding accomplishments over a career of scholarship

The Benjamin A. Botkin Prize, given every year to recognize outstanding achievement in public folklore

The Chicago Folklore Prize, given every year to the author(s) of the best scholarly monograph in folklore

The Kenneth Goldstein Award for Lifetime Academic Leadership, given in odd-numbered years for outstanding achievement in the building and strengthening of academic programs in folklore

The Zora Neale Hurston Prize, given every year for the best student work in any medium on African American folklore

The Américo Paredes Prize, given every year to recognize excellence in integrating scholarship and engagement with the people and communities one studies, or in teaching and encouraging scholars and practitioners to work in their own cultures or communities.

Many interest-group sections of the Society also give prizes to recognize achievement in their own areas of interest; for information, please see AFS Section Prizes.

2011 Prize Winners

2012 Prize Winners

2013 Prize Winners

|Career Center
|Open Forums
|Online Store
|Member Search

American Folklore Society
Mershon Center, The Ohio State University, 1501 Neil Avenue, Columbus OH 43201-2602 USA
614/292-4715; fax: 614/292-2199;

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal