Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Join AFS
Fellows of the American Folklore Society

Established in 1960, the Fellows of the American Folklore Society is an honorary body of folklorists, whose election to the Fellows signifies their outstanding contributions to the field. Members of the Fellows have produced a significant number of important articles, books, and other scholarly productions or exhibitions on folklore, and have provided meritorious service to the Society and the discipline of folklore studies. In addition to its honorary function, the Fellows sponsor activities to advance folklore studies, including mentoring programs for students, plenary sessions at the annual meeting, and special awards. The Fellows meet annually during the AFS annual meeting, usually inducting new members at that time.

The President of the Fellows for 2015 is Erika Brady of Western Kentucky University.

Follow the links below to find Fellows' biographical and professional information.

Roger D. Abrahams
Barry Jean Ancelet
Samuel G. Armistead*
Shirley Arora
Cristina Bacchilega
Ronald L. Baker
Robert Baron
William Bascom*
Ilhan Basgoz
Ernest W. Baughman*
Richard Bauman
Samuel P. Bayard*
Horace P. Beck*
Jane Beck
Dan Ben-Amos
Regina Bendix
Mody C. Boatright*
Ralph Steele Boggs*
Benjamin A. Botkin*
Erika Brady
Charles L. Briggs
Simon Bronner
Bertrand H. Bronson*
Mary Ellen Brown
Jan Harold Brunvand
David Buchan*
Peggy A. Bulger
Norma E. Cantú
William Clements
Tristram P. Coffin+*
Helen Creighton*
Daniel J. Crowley*
Gerald Davis*
Frank de Caro
Linda Dégh
Luisa Del Giudice
C. Kurt Dewhurst
Richard M. Dorson*
James Dow
Alan Dundes*
Wolfram Eberhard*
Bill Ellis
Hasan El-Shamy
Burt Feintuch
William Fenton+*
Bill Ferris
Austin Fife*
Gary Alan Fine
John Miles Foley*
Edith Fowke*
Albert Friedman*
Gladys-Marie Fry
Marcia Gaudet
Anna H. Gayton+*


Robert A. Georges
Frances Gillmor*
Henry Glassie
Diane Goldstein
Kenneth S. Goldstein*
Archie Green*
James S. Griffith
John Greenway*
A. Irving Hallowell*
Herbert Halpert+*
Wayland D. Hand+*
William F. Hansen
Lee Haring
Bess Lomax Hawes*
Elissa R. Henken
Maria Herrera-Sobek
Melville Herskovits+*
George Herzog*
Arthur Palmer Hudson+*
David Hufford
Mary Hufford
Dell Hymes*
Edward D. Ives*
Bill Ivey
Alan Jabbour
Melville Jacobs*
Thelma G. James+*
William H. Jansen*
Louis C. Jones*
Michael Owen Jones
Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett
Barbro Klein
Elli K. Köngas-Miranda*
George Korson+*
Luc Lacourcière*
Elaine Lawless
MacEdward Leach*
James P. Leary
William A. Lessa*
José E. Limón
Carl Lindahl
John Lindow
Timothy Lloyd
Alan Lomax*
C. Grant Loomis*
Albert B. Lord*
Katherine Luomala+*
Sabina Magliocco
Judith McCulloh
John McDowell
Marsha McDowell
William McNeil*
Jay Mechling
Wolfgang Mieder

Margaret Mills
Lynwood Montell
Patrick B. Mullen
Venetia Newall
W.F.H. Nicolaisen
Dorothy Noyes
Felix J. Oinas*
Morris E. Opler+*
Elliott Oring
Américo Paredes*
Daniel Patterson
Elizabeth E. Peterson
Gerald Pocius
Leonard Norman Primiano
Newbell Niles Puckett*
Vance Randolph*
W. Edson Richmond+*
Ralph C. Rinzler*
Stanley Robe
Warren E. Roberts+*
John W. Roberts
Neil Rosenberg
Jack Santino
Thomas E. Sebeok+*
Charles Seeger*
Sharon Sherman
Amy Shuman
Carol Silverman
Susan Slyomovics
Nick Spitzer
John Szwed
Timothy Tangherlini
Sol Tax*
Archer Taylor*
Harold Thompson*
Stith Thompson+*
Jeff Todd Titon
Barre Toelken
Elizabeth Tucker
Kay Turner
Patricia A. Turner
Francis Lee Utley+*
John Vlach
Donald J. Ward*
Marta Weigle
Erminie Wheeler-Voegelin+*
William H. Wiggins, Jr.
D.K. Wilgus+*
Michael Ann Williams
William A. Wilson
Margaret Yocom
Don Yoder
Steve Zeitlin
Rosemary Lévy Zumwalt

+ Original members of the Fellows

* Deceased

|Career Center
|Open Forums
|Online Store
|Member Search

American Folklore Society
Indiana University, Eigenmann Hall, 1900 East Tenth Street, Bloomington, IN 47406 USA
812/856-2379; fax: 812/856-2483;

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal